Board of directors

The association’s business is conducted by a 13-member board of directors. This includes 12 university presidents and the president of the association.

The chairman of the board serves a two-year term.


David Barnard

Chair (member of the executive committee)

President, University of Manitoba


Elizabeth Cannon

Vice-chair (member of the executive committee)

President, University of Calgary


Max Blouw, president, Wilfrid Laurier University

Max Blouw

President, Wilfrid Laurier University

Chair, Council of Ontario Universities


Guy Breton, recteur, Université de Montréal

Guy Breton

Rector, Université de Montréal (member of the executive committee)

Chair, Bureau de coopération interuniversitaire (formerly Conference of Rectors and Principals of Quebec Universities)


Eddy Campbell, president, University of New Brunswick.

Eddy Campbell

President, University of New Brunswick



Paul Davidson

President of Universities Canada (member of the executive committee)


Patrick Deane

President, McMaster University



Suzanne Fortier, principal, McGill University.

Suzanne Fortier

Principal, McGill University


Dominic Giroux

President, Laurentian University (member of the executive committee)


Ramona Lumpkin

President, Mount Saint Vincent University

Chair, Association of Atlantic Universities


Mike Mahon, president, University of Lethbridge.

Michael Mahon

President, University of Lethbridge

Chair, Council of Western Canadian University Presidents


Andrew Petter, president, Simon Fraser University.

Andrew Petter

President, Simon Fraser University


Robert Proulx

Robert Proulx

Rector, UQAM


Committee Chairs

Standing Advisory Committee on the Act and By-Laws (SACAB)
Paul Gooch, president, Victoria University (Ontario)

Standing Advisory Committee on Educational Issues and Funding (SACEIF)
Tim McTiernan, president, University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT)

Standing Advisory Committee on International Relations (SACIR)
Vianne Timmons, president, University of Regina

Standing Advisory Committee on University Research (SACUR)
Elizabeth Cannon, president, University of Calgary

Universities Canada Finance Committee
Robert Campbell, president, Mount Allison University

Updated: October 29, 2014