Global Excellence Initiative Canvassing Committee

Committee’s mandate

The Global Excellence Initiative Canvassing Committee is committed to raising the profiles of top Canadian researchers on a global scale.

The Committee seeks to identify meritorious Canadian candidates for major international research awards and recommend to the leader of the candidate’s institution that the candidate be nominated for a specific award. The Committee is dedicated to supporting the candidate and their institution throughout the application process.


Howard Alper, distinguished university professor, University of Ottawa


  • Colin Dodds, former president, Saint Mary’s University
  • Aleeza Gerstein, assistant professor, University of Manitoba
  • Gordon McCauley, President & CEO, AdMare BioInnovations
  • Simon Kennedy, Deputy Minister, ISED
  • Jennifer Love, Head, Department of Chemistry, University of Calgary
  • Cheryl Misak, university professor, University of Toronto
  • Robert Prichard, chair, Torys LLP
  • Roderick McInnes, professor, department of biochemistry, McGill University and director, Lady Davis Research Institute
  • Rémi Quirion, chief scientist of Québec
  • Molly Shoichet, professor and Canada Research Chair in Tissue Engineering, University of Toronto
  • Juan Luis Suarez, professor, Western University
Universities Canada