Outbound Student Mobility Program

The Government of Canada’s International Education Strategy includes a five-year outbound student mobility pilot program that will provide funding for thousands of college and university undergraduate students to gain in-demand international skills and experience during their studies. 

Funded by Employment and Social Development Canada, the Outbound Student Mobility Program is jointly administered by Universities Canada and Colleges and Institutes Canada (CICan). In addition to giving students international learning experiences, this program is also an important step towards achieving Canada’s trade diversification goals and strengthening international networks. 

Universities Canada and CICan are working closely with multiple stakeholders to design the Outbound Student Mobility Program, and have convened an advisory group of leaders and experts in education, civil society and business to provide high-level strategic advice and guidance on the design and implementation of the program. In addition to informing strategic and policy issues, committee members also serve as ambassadors to build awareness and support for the program across their networks. 

Advisory group members

11 advisory group members are posing.

The Right Honourable David Johnston, chair, Rideau Hall Foundation (chair) 

John Baker, president & CEO, D2L

Perrin Beatty, president and CEO, Chamber of Commerce

Larissa Bezo, president and CEO, Canadian Bureau for International Education

Margaret Biggs, Matthews Fellow in Global Public Policy, Queen’s University

Zahra Dhubow, recent graduate, Saint Mary’s University; coordinator, Stronger Together: Empowering Marginalized Youth, Immigrant Services Association of Nova Scotia

Max FineDay, executive director, Canadian Roots Exchange

Seren Friskie, student representative, Thompson Rivers University and Douglas College; research assistant, Canadian Mental Health Association

Zabeen Hirji, executive advisor, Future of Work, Deloitte

Sue Paish, CEO, Digital Technology Supercluster

Christian Paradis, senior vice president, strategic development, security service, GardaWorld

Ian Smith, CEO, Clearwater Seafoods 

This project is funded in part by the Government of Canada’s Outbound Student Mobility Pilot.

Logo du Gouvernement du Canada avec la feuille d'érable.Building on Success: International Education Strategy (2019 – 2024)


For more information:

Brenna Baggs
Communications manager

Universities Canada